Legal Question in Civil Litigation in New York

Myself and 20 other artists were contracted by an author to produce illustrations for his book. In the written agreement, he agreed to make payment upon the completion and publishing of the book. The book has been available and being sold through Amazon and several other online retailers since the beginning of August. No payment to the artists have been made and now the author has said instead that he will pay with the proceeds of the book. The author owes myself $300 but owes the other individuals between $100 and $600 dollars each. The author resides in Arizona, I live in NY, the other artist live in several other states. How do we go about suing?

Asked on 10/10/12, 9:29 am

1 Answer from Attorneys


You should all band together, hire an attorney in Arizona and have him represent all your interests.

Read more
Answered on 10/10/12, 10:33 am

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in New York