Legal Question in Personal Injury in New York

My wife own a small nail shop, the business is very slow, recently, she start to do eyelash extension (no license), and one day, there is a regular customer ask to do the eyelash extension, then next early morning, she called my wife, and said she is in ER, the first day she claim that she lost about $1000, need compense from my wife, then the next day, she call my wife, and said that she hired a lawyer, and start a law suit, ask for $5000.

We have couple of questions.

1. since she refuse to send us the hospital document, and recent picture, we are not sure what is really going on. Is there anyway to force her customer to send the evidence over.

2. I believe this should be the small case court, should I hire a lawyer to deal with it, we can not afford any expensive cost, any low cost alternative.

3. we have business insurance, but don't think it will cover this case. If my wife sell her business, will the law suit against her personal asset, or it will only associate with the corp asset.

4. what is the possible argument for this lawsuit, we need some suggestion about it.

Thanks for your time.

Asked on 1/28/10, 10:06 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Linda Chalat Chalat Hatten Koupal & Banker P.C.

You should seek legal advise before talking with this person or her attorney. If you need help affording an attorney, you may be given help by the New York Legal Aid,, or the Legal Aid Society, Good luck.

Read more
Answered on 2/02/10, 12:03 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in New York