Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New York

In 1989 my Mom bought a house in my name and my sisters name with my mom's money. I asked my mom to take my name off the mortgage before she died because it was bringing down my score and I had a mental disability. The real estate lawyer took my name off the deed and that is not what I intended. My mom died in 2006. She had my sister always file the taxes on the house because my sister had two jobs and was paying alot of taxes. My sister has controlled the house since my mom passed in 2006 and does not give me any of the money from the house. My sister refinanced the house and got about 200k off of it. She said the other day that the house is hers alone. The house was bought for 169k with my moms money and my sister and i were on the mortgage not my mom so it did not pass into her estate. I was not estranged from my mom for my sister to say the house does not belong to me. If I can get a letter from the previous owner to state that the house was purchased with my Mom's money, do I have a claim against my sister? Wouldn't I be entitled to anything concerning this house? Isn't illegal to steal from a person with a mental disability? She comes to my house and is always being condescending towards me and my daughter. She exacerbates my condition with her constant insulting ways. Can I sue her for stealing that house (Its worth close to $1 million) and the real estate lawyer (for malpractice)? The deed transfer was for zero dollars and it was back in 2002, my Mom passed in 2006.

Asked on 8/20/17, 3:12 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

This is too complicated to be answered over the internet. Why have you waited so long before speaking up? You need to see a lawyer in person.

Read more
Answered on 8/21/17, 10:03 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New York