Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New York

I am interested in a house that is for sale in Brooklyn NY. Although they are not required to have a Certificate of Occupancy since it was built in 1929, the COO states that it is a ONE family home with a cellar and carport. However, the deed, nyc property tax website and other government websites all states that it is a B1- 2Family. The house even has a second gas meter that is partially dismantled but still attached. Is the COO the final say? It's so then wouldn't the current owner be paying property taxes on a two family while the COO states it's a one family? How do I find out the correct answer to this. If it really is a 2 family and the COO is incorrect how much would it cost to get an amended and corrected COO and how long would it take? I don't want to buy the house and find out it really is a one family so I am trying to get all the answer prior to possibility making a bid. Thank you so much for your advice!

Asked on 5/01/18, 10:27 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

You have to get a real estate lawyer. You can't get help over the internet by email for this problem.

Read more
Answered on 5/02/18, 7:00 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New York