Legal Question in Insurance Law in North Carolina

Are the 4 specific illnesses below have coverage beyond the 24 months OR are they not covered at all?

Below shows exactly what the Long Term Disability Policy states:

"Limitation For Disabilities Due to Mental or Nervous Disorders or Diseases

You are covered for 24 months of Disability, including Elimination Period(s), during your lifetime if you are

Disabled due to a Mental or Nervous Disorder or Disease, unless the Disability results from:

1. schizophrenia;

2. bipolar disorder;

3. dementia; or

4. organic brain disease."

Asked on 9/06/17, 1:28 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Kirby Law Offices of John M. Kirby

It is a little difficult to answer this without the context and without the full policy, but the primary interpretation of this provision is that these illnesses are not covered at all.

Read more
Answered on 9/20/17, 4:21 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Insurance Law questions and answers in North Carolina