Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Ohio

In Ohio section 5321.13 Rental Agreement Terms Barred

(c) states No aggreement to pay the landlords or tenants attorneys fee shall be recognized in any rental agreement>

Q) If a lease a signed lease containts a clause that states that a tenant will be responsible for legal fees plus S500.00 in the lease. Since the clause is barred woulldnt this make the lease null and void?

Asked on 9/11/09, 12:39 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Dan Guinn Guinn Law Firm, LLC

It depends. The court would likely say that only that part of the agreement is invalid yet say that the rest of the agreement is valid.

Read more
Answered on 9/11/09, 12:44 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Ohio