Legal Question in Social Security Law in Pennsylvania

I was disabled for almost 9 months back in 2014 due to cancer treatment. I had just been approved for disability when I got well enough to return to work full time. I informed Soc Sec immediately that I had returned but they said it was too late to stop the payments. After 2 years of getting payments, they concluded that I was never eligible for disability. They want me to repay $28,000 and put me on a monthly plan. I have already paid them some money, but I'm not sure the $28,000 is correct. Do I really owe this amount?

Asked on 7/24/19, 2:13 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Randall Selagy F. Randall Selagy, P.C.

Ask for an audit. SSA usually wants more than it deserves. Like saying you were 'never eligible.' File a Request for Reconsideration, File a Request for Waiver of Overpayment.

Read more
Answered on 7/24/19, 5:33 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Social Security Law questions and answers in Pennsylvania