Legal Question in Banking Law in Texas

I utilized to sign documents electronically all the time. I recently signed a loan application electronically using the website; however, the loan office insists that I sign the document by hand. The document is being sent to the lender electronically. Is my electronic signature not legally binding?

Asked on 1/15/14, 8:08 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

The person who is receiving the document (and relying on it) has the right to demand a "real" signature.

Your electronic signature is binding if the other party agrees to make a written contract with you in that fashion.

Read more
Answered on 1/16/14, 11:07 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Banking Law questions and answers in Texas