Legal Question in Consumer Law in Texas

I have a friend who had filed for divorce from her husband and was waiting for the courts to sign the divorce but before the divorce became final he died of a heart attack. Months before he had bought a used pickup from a third party and was making monthly payments. He had signed a document, which her name is nowhere on, agreeing to making the payments. She does not want the truck. Is she liable for the payments? The document he had signed is not notarized just signed between him and the other party.

Asked on 2/05/14, 7:34 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

She is not liable for the payments. She never promised to make any payments, and never made a contract.

Read more
Answered on 2/06/14, 2:28 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Texas