Legal Question in Consumer Law in Texas

Stopped Payment on Check for Goods Received

I posted an ad on Craigslist for dancewear and dance shoes we bought from a store going out of business. A man came by with an associate, they looked through most of the items, gave us a cash payment of $500 and a post dated check for the remaning $1,500.00 and took the items. Two weeks later he called and said some of the items are not what he expected and he is going to stop payment on his check. Can he do this since he had ample opportunity to inspect all the items before his purchase? He says I misrepresented the items because my listing stated that all the items are new. They are all new, still in their original boxes and/or packages. He says they are not new, even though they've never been worn and still have the price tags on them, because some of the items are 6 years old.

Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Asked on 1/28/08, 1:53 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

TC Langford Langford Law Office

Re: Stopped Payment on Check for Goods Received

It is a scam. Contact the police.

Read more
Answered on 1/28/08, 2:42 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Texas