Legal Question in Criminal Law in Texas

I recieved a court date in the mail for assault bodily injury. I was never arrested for the charge. I want to get a lawyer before i go into court but will acctualy miss my court date due to insufficient funds at the moment for attorneys fees. If i miss my court date but get my attorney and go at a later time. Do you think ill be ok.

Asked on 2/15/14, 7:48 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Keith Engelke Law Office of S. Keith Engelke

You need to get a bail bond first, then go to court and ask for time to hire an attorney. They will reset your court appearance. If you don't show up, a warrant will be issued for your arrest.

Read more
Answered on 2/15/14, 8:33 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Texas