Legal Question in Family Law in Texas

I'm trying to find out if my daughters father has any legal rights to her at the moment. His name isn't on her birth certificate and she has my last name. He did get a DNA test done, but it's not through a court order, he did it on his own. So Unless he takes me to court to prove paternity, does he have Any legal rights to her? Also, he's an undocumented alien, if that matters.

Asked on 4/03/17, 9:03 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

If you and he have never been married, and there's no court order establishing paternity, then he is a stranger to her. No legal rights.

Read more
Answered on 4/04/17, 6:53 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Texas