Legal Question in Employment Law in Texas

Employer is attempting to make me quit.

Over the past few months, my office manager has done several things to try and get me to quit:

''Forgot'' to turn my commission statement in so I received my commission the following month (twice in three months) (all other employees received theirs on time)

Made me sign a write up after being late (8:02am, 8:07am, 8:27am - two other employees were late that day because of a wreck) I am paid salary and she stated I could not make up time by staying late or a late lunch.

I was sick on a Monday. The following Tuesday, she called me in to tell me she had to have a note from the doctor. When I provided it to her she stated she had to have it because most people who called in on a Monday ''partied'' the night before - no one else has to provide a Dr. note.

Received e-mail stating I had until July 31 to purchase airfare. July 25 she called me in her office and said if I didn't have airfare by the end of the business day, I couldn't go to the company Christmas party. When asked why I didn't have until the 31st, she said, ''You know, I really need someone here to answer phones during that time.''

She can't fire me because I have the highest productivity in the office. This began when I got into an argument with her daughter.

Asked on 9/08/06, 9:20 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Roger Evans Mathis & Donheiser

Re: Employer is attempting to make me quit.

Nothing that has been done is unlawful, and you can be fired no matter how productive you have been. You are not protected from unfair treatment, just illegal conduct.

Read more
Answered on 9/13/06, 1:08 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Texas