Legal Question in Traffic Law in Texas

A former police officer said that when he made a traffic stop, if the subject claimed a constitutional right to remain silent, that he would ask him for a law license. If he had none he would threaten them with arrest for practicing law without a license. He asserted to me that he was not bluffing, and that this was a real potential felony. I was skeptical. Who is correct?

Asked on 7/07/12, 9:14 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

That cop is a complete idiot. Or he's pulling your leg.

"Practicing law without a license" is a misdemeanor in Texas, but representing oneself is NOT the practice of law.

Read more
Answered on 7/08/12, 1:40 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Texas