Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Virginia

My daughter owed a credit card company a little under $2000 and has been unable to pay it off. She is a retail clerk and never receives 40 hours a week in all the years she has worked at this company. She never received anything in the mail but got the ultimate surprise. She got paid on a Friday and she was able to get lunch, sometime afterwards her bank account was garnished. This law firm hit her account, took all her money and has a negative balance with a pending notice. The bank explained to her that this was legal because a judge signed the order and she should received something in the mail. My question: How can a company take all your money from your bank account and leave you nothing? How can this be legal? They did not try to garnish her payroll, why? Because they would only get a percentage? How can a person survive without losing everything they own including the job? I have never heard of this happening to anybody else in my life. Is there a legal issue that can prevent this from happening? Please advise!!!!

Asked on 9/16/17, 9:24 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Daniel Press Chung & Press, P.C.

She may be able to claim some or all of this exempt and get it back, but to make the judgment go away she will need to pay or settle this, or file bankruptcy.

Read more
Answered on 9/17/17, 3:03 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Virginia