Legal Question in Discrimination Law in Virginia

After working at the same place for 6 months and always fighting for Sunday evenings off to go to church (my only availability request) I was brought in yesterday and threatened. I was told I need to give up my Sunday nights. Thats no longer acceptable to them and that if I don't like it I'm free to quit. I refused to quit and insisted there must be something we could work out. There are plenty of people who can pick up a Sunday evening shift so I can get to church. They knew from the point of hiring that I couldn't work that shift.

Today I came in and they didn't even let me get through my shift. Half way through they sat me down told me I was fired and to leave the premises.

There are plenty of other employees who have days they cannot work or shifts they cannot do. I work with students who need days off for class. I'm the only one who's constantly hounded and I feel I'm the victim of some kind of religious persecution.

Asked on 9/03/10, 1:42 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Hendrickson Law Office Michael E. Hendrickson

If you're asking whether under the facts described that you have

viable recourse against your employer for this unhappy termination, I would answer that, unfortunately, you do not

(in my opinion).

Read more
Answered on 9/08/10, 8:49 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Other Discrimination Law (Age, Race, Sex, Gender) questions and answers in Virginia