Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Virginia

I got a car on Jan. 13, 2017 where me and my S/O cosigned a loan together even though the car was mine, my S/O was helping out on a better APR. now both name are on the title. We got married jan. 20, 2017 so my divorce lawyer said it wasn't a marital asset. Well I filed for divorce in May after my spouse stabbed me 10 times. My estranged spouse hasn't complied with the divorce or any POA's for the care. Now my car is totaled from a wreck and I want to know can I sign the car over to my insurance company without the estranged spouse.

Asked on 9/05/18, 10:52 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Hendrickson Law Office Michael E. Hendrickson

This is not likely to happen without the signature of your "estranged spouse".

Read more
Answered on 9/10/18, 7:03 am

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Virginia