Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Virginia

My property manager is making us have our home professionally cleaned, the carpets cleaned, chimney inspected, and sprayed for pests all at our expense and by the companies of their choosing. Each of these services require us to be moved out completely and must all be done on different days. The property manager said it must all be done before our lease is up. That means moving out at least 5 days early and paying rent at two places at once. Can they legally do this? This is their "standard procedure" and is not being required of us because we have done anything wrong.

Asked on 6/09/17, 6:46 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Hendrickson Law Office Michael E. Hendrickson

So, exactly what does your lease have to say about this issue? Without knowing whether your lease contains

language that supports it, I couldn't offer an opinion on it.

Read more
Answered on 6/10/17, 8:48 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Virginia