Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Wisconsin

We recently discovered that we have been paying property taxes based on an assessment of 1.5 acres, but there are actually 2.5. The property was surveyed at 2.5 when we bought it but county records apparently still show 1.5. We want to get this corrected, but wonder if there is a chance we will be liable for back taxes, even though the mistake was in their office.

Asked on 4/04/19, 2:43 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Thomas Schober Schober Schober & Mitchell, S.C.

You most likely won't be charged back taxes, but your bill in the future is likely to go up.

Read more
Answered on 5/03/19, 7:13 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Wisconsin