Alabama | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Small Claims Hearing Dale County
A compliant has been filed against me in Dale County Small Claims Court. The compliant is failure to pay $2000.00 for screen back porch on a newly built house. The subcontractor contracted with the builder to screen/window the back porch on my new house. The subcontractor claims that the builder did not pay the full amount for the work/materials. The subcontractor now wants me to pay for the balance. ($5000 - $3000 = $2000)I did not sign a contract nor agree verbally to pay the subcontractor for his work/materials. The subcontractor was told to submit an invoice prior to the closing date in order to be paid and/or escrow funds for disbursement after closing. The contractor never executed this requirement nor has he provided me an invoice for payment. I am a 100% Totally and Permanent Disabled Veteran suffers from severe Post Tramantic Stress Disorder. I suffer impaired cognitive abilities due to PTSD and am not competent to handle financial and personal affairs as determined by VA and Social Security Administration. The suit has been filed against me and not my wife and I. She and I purchased the new house from the builder using a VA loan. Thanking you in advance for your assistance in this matter.


