Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Arizona

My dad died in Texas and left $14K in a bank account. He was testate and named me the executor of his estate in a will. This account is all that is in the will. I live in Arizona. From what I read, AZ has a Small Estate Affidavit for instances like this, but it appears that since he died in TX I need to go through the TX courts and they do not offer the Small Estate Affidavit for testate individuals. Question...Where do I need to file...Arizona or Texas? Also, if it is TX, what is the procedure?

Asked on 2/04/13, 11:12 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Cheryl Rivera Smith The Smith Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

See if the bank will accept an affidavit of heirship. That should be all you need.

Read more
3/31/13, 3:30 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Arizona

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88283 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now