Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

just got served with eviction summons for current month of July 2011 failure to pay though I was living my last month...not to mention still have security total of 5k rent 2.5k notified mgmt co. 38days ago never received a response assumed all ok till got first verbal threat 1 1/2wk ago and a 3day notice. Have been a model tenant paying every 3wks or 1wk ahead of due date, maintaining the property and have 2 special needs children. Just bought new home moving 7/31 and have received numerous letters of recommendation for outstanding tenancy/payment history from the same mgmt company. Lease expired 11/1/2009. Never renewed, verbal agreement was continue to pay and upkeep as usual let me know ahead of time when you are ready to leave.

Asked on 7/26/11, 7:46 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Isi Mataele 'Isi Mataele Attorney at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

They have to serve you with an unlawful detainer action to remove you and then there will be a trial if you oppose it. You have to fight it if you do not owe it.

Read more
7/26/11, 8:34 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8807 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now