California  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
6/23/09, 2:31 pm

Legal Question


Life insurance beneficiary

My sister has terminal cancer. She has a life insurance policy which names her husband as beneficiary. They have a mountain of debt, mostly medical but also credit card debt, and they have negative equity in their house.

The question is, should she change the life insurance beneficiary to their children (ages 14 and 16) rather than her husband? Would that shelter the proceeds from creditors, and allow him to file bankruptcy if necessary?

They live in southern California (LA area), they don't know any attorneys, and neither of them has the energy, time, or financial resources to research this. Someone (probably me) needs to tell them what to do.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

...Steve


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search