California  |  Business Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/20/13, 9:35 pm

I am building a news website and was wondering what legal boundaries are there for sharing news articles from other organizations? What do I have to do to legally share a news article on my website?

3 Answers


Answered on: 5/20/13, 11:41 pm by Charles Perry

You have to be extremely careful about copyright violations. While it is generally safe to provide links to the sites of other organizations, and while the facts in the news stories are not subject to copyright, you may not wholesale copy articles. It will make sense for you to investigate the "fair use" doctrine, so that you know what you can do and not do, in terms of copyright.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Charles R. Perry 1500 Bayberry Street Hollister, 95023

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/21/13, 11:48 am by Edward Hoffman

If you actually want to post an article on your website, you will need the permission of the copyright holder. However, even without their permission, you can write a brief description of the article and provide a link to the page where the full article appears.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman 11755 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1250 Los Angeles, CA 90025

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/23/13, 4:24 pm by Anthony Roach

Usually news articles are shared with affiliates that have a contract.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

133 Answers given in the last few hours.

8661 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search