California  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
11/10/07, 9:21 pm

Legal Question


violation of civil rights

My brother has anterograde amnesia as a result of a Herpes Encephalitis infection in 2000. Initially, his memory was about 5 minutes long and he had amnesia about events 15 years prior to his infection. He is now much improved; he remembers some events for months and even years, however there are some things he doesn't remember after several hours. He has been successfully living at home for 7 years. He is self directed, cooks, dresses, bathes, toilets, does odd jobs, mows the lawn, walks on trails and is socially correct. This past August, with no notice to the family, his wife, wanting to travel, dumped him in a rest home using a very basic medical power of attorney and she refuses to let him move into my home. We need someone who is well versed and experienced in the laws that protect the rights of the disabled particularly those who have suffered brain damage. Is there anyone out there who has expertise in brain damage, civil rights and advocacy? Can't he change his power of attorney, seek a divorce, and choose where he wants to live? His basic civil rights are being ignored, no worse than that, they are being blatantly violated. If you know of anyway to help me, please let me know. I don't know where to turn.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search