California | Technology Law
Legal Question
I was asked by a person I am building a website for, if I can register or copyright her website.
How do I go about that task?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
You can't copyright a Web site, just as you cannot copyright a library. A Web site is a repository of materials, some of which may qualify for copyright. Copyright is available for particular creative works, such as paintings, musical compositions, essays, novels, etc., when set down by their creator in a tangible or "permanent" medium. Creative works that are posted on a Web site may be copyrighted if otherwise qualified. I suggest getting one or more paperback self-help law books on the subject of copyright or, more generally, protection of intellectual property. There a several and they are cheap and with a little study, will show what's copyrightable and how to do it. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Office of Jonas M. Grant, A.P.C.
Woodland Hills, CA
Questions Answered: 362
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Internet Attorney
Aptos, CA
Questions Answered: 339
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-16
Search Questions and Answers


