California | Consumer Law
Legal Question
Missing property
In Feb 2000, my ex-fiance and I bought a car together. September 2001 we broke up. A month after, he attacked me and held me against my will. Before he was arrested, he took/stole the car from me. Now i am left with the car payments with no car. I tried to make a stolen car report but the police refused to do so... saying that since he's on the registration, they can't do anything. I know for a fact that his relatives are hiding the car for him though i'm not sure which of them has the car. I am worried that the relatives are using the car and fear that i might be liable for damage they might cause with the car. I am lost as to whether i should hire a private investigator to find the car (and sue his relatives) or just hire a lawyer and sue my ex-fiance. Will i be able to take him to small claims court? I am also open to any lawyer referral that can help me with this situation. Thanks.


