Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in California

I live in California. I was laid off from my job and was out of work for four months. I am back to work now but I fell behind on my auto loan. I owe $11,600 but the vehicle is only worth about $7,000 if I sell it to a private party. If I sell the car for less than the loan i will owe money i do not have. If I voluntarily turn in the car will I be on the hook for the difference in the value and the loan? If the car is the only collateral can they demand the difference or sue me to collect?

Asked on 7/27/13, 2:19 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Joel Selik www.SelikLaw.com
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

I'm sorry, yes they can.

Read more
7/27/13, 2:25 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now