California | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Settlement Offer
What is an attorney's duty in regards to a settlement offer made to him?
Fours day before the court date I faxed a settlement offer to the attorney representing a collection agency. He did not acknowledge the offer. I also left a message on his answering machine telling him that I could not appear in court because of my obligation to my business plus the fact that I had injured my back. He did not acknowledge the message, either.
He went to court and got the judgement.
Was he or was he not obliged to respond to me about the settlement offer? If so, what can be done at this point?


