California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/17/13, 7:08 pm

I was charged for shoplifting last month at 17 and I am supposed to appear in court this week. However, two days ago I turned 18. Do I still need my legal guardian present at the court with me?

3 Answers


Answered on: 7/17/13, 8:41 pm by Kelvin Green

You need an attorney with you...


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Law Office of Kelvin Green . California Bar #286285, CA ..

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/18/13, 11:04 am by Anthony Roach

I'm assuming that you received a notice that your legal guardian was supposed to be with you, since the offense occurred when you were a minor. To be on the safe side, I suggest you bring on of your legal guardians (parent?) and then ask for an attorney. Your attorney can point out that you are now 18, and together you can handle the matter without needing your parent/s present.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Anthony A. Roach 9909 Topanga Canyon, Ste.313 Chatsworth, CA 91311

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/23/13, 2:09 am by Terry A. Nelson

No, but if you are serious about hiring an attorney to help you in this, and it is in SoCal, feel free to contact me. If this is your first offense, your attorney may be able to get you a diversion program that would avoid a conviction on your record.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search