California  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
2/11/09, 7:48 pm

Legal Question


Severance agreement signed

Is there any case when a signed severance agreement can be null and void or not binding? My mother was terminated after 32 years of dedicated service. This was done while she was on medical leave for some significant vision loss due to glaucoma. Her new supervisior of 6 months stated it was ''performance based'' which is a total fabrication. There was never any mention of any performance issues prior to this termination. My mother was dedicated and her work was superior. In a recent unexpected phone call with the main chairperson at her job, it was mentioned to me that they thought it was time she move on and retire due to her eyesight. There are other instances of retaliation by the new suprvsr who had motive to get my mother terminated and did so when she was on leave. My mom already signed the waiver from lawsuits in her severance agreement but did so after she suffered a major anxiety attack, was depressed and stressed from job loss and needed $ for medical ins, bills etc. A lawyer told her she could do nothing to her employer and that she did not have as strong case, even with lots of documentation of wrongdoing. Said her employer was not obligated to follow their own policies. SO she signed under stress and diress.


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search

 


Translated Question

flags Severance agreement signed Is there any case when a signed in Italiano

flags Severance agreement signed Is there any case when a signed in Chinese (Simplified)

flags Severance agreement signed Is there any case when a signed in Chinese (Traditional)

flags Severance agreement signed Is there any case when a signed in Deutsch

flags Severance agreement signed Is there any case when a signed in French

flags Severance agreement signed Is there any case when a signed in Spanish

flags Severance agreement signed Is there any case when a signed in Japanese

flags Severance agreement signed Is there any case when a signed in Arabic

flags Severance agreement signed Is there any case when a signed in Russian

flags Severance agreement signed Is there any case when a signed in Hebrew