California | Discrimination Law
9/22/10, 12:53 pm
Legal Question
If I ask for sunday's off at my job, retail store in california, do they have to by law accomodate me, is there such a law
If I ask for sunday's off at my job, retail store in california, do they have to by law accomodate me, is there such a law
|
Read More Answered By: Michael Kirschbaum |
No, they don't. Employers have the right to set work schedules without obtaining approval from its employees. |
|
Read More Answered By: Terry A. Nelson |
If you make proper and timely request for valid religious accommodation, then yes they have to allow shift change to accommodate. Just because you want to watch the big game on Sunday, no. The employer is entitled to set and change hours, duties, titles, compensation, benefits, leaves, vacations, holidays, policies, rules, etc. just not retroactively. In general, unless an employee is civil service, in a union, or has a written employment contract, they are an 'at will' employee that can be disciplined or fired any time for any reason, with or without ‘cause’, explanation or notice, other than for illegal discrimination, harassment or retaliation under the ADA disability, Civil Rights [age, race, sex, ethnic, religion, pregnancy, etc], Whistle-blower, or similar statutes. The employee's goal should be to keep the employer happy. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
► I have worked for sears over 2 years. A mananger position opened in the department...
► I work for the USPS over 30 years as a secretary. My supervisor came up to me on...
► I have been a customer at this small local bar for 7+ years. A local customer...
► I have two major potential lawsuits against a major entity in California where I...
► Is my family being discriminated as the staff at Circus Circus Reno has informed us...
► I work for the State of Californa's Employment Development Department in their...
► Where I am working I had a client come to me and ask me to set him up with someone...
More Other Discrimination Law (Age, Race, Sex, Gender) questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press