California  |  Education Law

question bubble
8/17/10, 2:38 pm

Legal Question


Last Friday I picked up my 9 yr old daughter early from school. Office staff failed to ask for my I.d. or verify my relationship to her. I asked the staff their school policy on a child being picked up & taken off grounds. I was informed that they must check I.d and verify with emergency card who is authorized to pick up a student. This is a big concern to me, the school violated their policy and released my daughter to me w/out verifiyng me identity, until I questioned them. Can I hold the school liable for violating policy & placing my child at risk? This is a serious matter, my daughter has court ordered supervised visits with her biological mother, I don't want the schools negligence to affect her safety or life.


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search