California  |  Education Law

question bubble
11/05/07, 2:00 am

Legal Question


Victim of Plagiarism

I am a grad student at a private university. The professor gave us instructions to post our final projects online in a section called ''Document Sharing'' so that we could view each other's final projects.

I posted my final projects two days before the due date. Another student posted theirs two days after the due date (4 days after I posted mine). When I looked at his project, I noticed his formatting and some of my research, ideas, and work appeared on his papers. The professor was appalled and agreed that it was plagiarism. The university is still looking into the issue, but I feel violated and scared – this guy is kind of creepy and unstable as it is.

Should I be doing more than simply letting the university look into it?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search