California  |  Medical Leave

question bubble
2/02/09, 7:39 pm

Legal Question


Pregnancy

I have an employee that recently announced her pregnancy. She had one write up prior, and has continued to have issues with work results. I want to write her up for not doing her job, but was told that she is protected due to her pregnancy. Work related issues (she is an HR Manager) has nothing to do woth pregnancy. She now has volunteered for Jury Duty and has been gone 3 weeks. Not checking emails, calendar, etc. Our HR dept is suffering. She did not follow up on a UI Hearing and missed it due to not letting anyone else in the dept know it was occuring. This is a manager and an exempt position. Does one really have anything to do with the other? As well, I was told her Jury Duty status us protected as is her pregnancy. I do not understand this nor have I ever found it in any of my research. Thank you,


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search