California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
5/05/03, 12:27 pm

Legal Question


Claim of unpaid wages

My X girlfriend has filed with the Dept of Labor that I owe her 6 months wages. She lived in my home, rent free for that period. She worked some hours helping out in my store and I paid her with a direct signed check. After she moved out, I put her on payroll and she was paid by the payroll service I use. She is claiming the 6 months that she lived with me for full time employement. Neither of us used time cards as her help was spuratic and I paid cash/no deductions. Am I responsible to pay the labor board as they are fining me $54 a day until settled.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search