California | Employment Law
Legal Question
I'm a sub contractor in a company vehicle. I get paid by the job not by the hour. My boss is ordering me to drive an hour and a half away to get the company vehicle inspected with out pay.
I pay for my own gas, and they reimburse me on a tax right off. Basically I pay gas, give them a receipt, then they take out 90% of what I paid in gas from my gross pay. Tax my gross pay, then give me back the money they took out.
They are not going to pay me to drive the truck to get it inspected. And it will cost me roughly 75$ out of my own pocket in gas to go. So not only am I working for free, but I'm losing money from not working, and I'm paying 75$ out of my own pocket to do work for them.
On top of that every week I have to drive to a location of their choosing or the nearest kinkos/fedex and drop off or send them paper work. They have a fedex account, but the drive is out of my own pocket in gas. And there is no pay.
Is this legal?


