California | Employment Law
Legal Question
I gave my employer 3 1/2 weeks notice and she told me to leave that day. She then said she could withhold my final paycheck because I was an independent contractor not an employee. She wanted me to sign that I wouldn't ever see past clients and insisted I write 4 more reports three weeks after I left. Her dad is an attorney in Arizona and her former client is an attorney in California so they were writing harrassing letters until I hired an attorney to stop it. I filed an IRS SS-8 form and they agreed I was an employee since I worked 4 years prior as an employee. I still have not heard from my former employer or received a corrected W-2. My paycheck was for about $2000.00 and now I should be due 30 days in penalties since it has been over a year and a half. Should I go to the Labor Board, hire an attorney, or go to small claims court? My former employer took it very personally that I left and she will probably fight whatever I do.


