California | Employment Law
Legal Question
Standby Shifts
I work for BJ's restaurant and we are regularly scheduled for standby shifts, typically one per employee a week. They are listed on your schedule with a date and a time of 12pm or 6pm. Policy is that a manager may call you to come in at any time up to 12pm or 6pm and you are required to come in. Sometimes I have been given as little notice as 45 minutes to be at work. If we are not called in there is not compensation. Sometimes employees are given more than one standby shift a week. Are their laws or guidelines that control how standby shifts should operate and whether or not you should be compensated?


