California | Employment Law
12/29/09, 3:45 pm
Legal Question
I need help with major case Response to Demurrer, in Pro Per already in court
Thank you, Timely desperate need of help
I need help with major case Response to Demurrer, in Pro Per already in court
Thank you, Timely desperate need of help
|
Read More Answered By: Robert F. Cohen |
A demurrer tests the sufficiency of the complaint. The defendant has filed a demurrer and has stated that what you have alleged in the itemized causes of action does not meet the legal requirements to state a claim for whatever it is you are alleging. Each cause of action has certain elements that must be alleged. If any of those elements is missing, then the complaint is susceptible to a demurrer or a motion for summary adjudication sometime down the road.
You might look at the cases the defendant has cited in support of the demurrer and see what's needed to cure your complaint. You can file a first amended complaint at any time before the demurrer is heard, and preferably before the court issues a tentative ruling. More than likely, though, if you were to tell the court that you could cure the defects, the court will give you the opportunity to amend. Although the court might be inclined to grant 10 days leave to do so, you might ask for a bit more time to both amend and find an attorney to assist you. Many attorneys will handle employment cases on a contingency and not require their clients to pay them any money. In addition, if it is a case of discrimination and you have made a claim under the Fair Employment and Housing Act, you might be entitled to recover your attorney's fees (based on hours worked) if you prevail. Good luck! |
|
Read More Answered By: OCEAN BEACH ASSOCIATES |
I can assist you in responding to the demurrer and if it has merit in amending the complaint if it is amendable. Contact me directly. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 538
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-12
► I am a California Employer....here is my question...I need for an employee to go to...
► I moved to California about 2 years ago. I have been trying to obtain a CA driver's...
► Last January (jan 6,09) I was hired onto my current job. I was told to fill out a...
► Is my employer responsible for my tools that were on board a company work truck that...
► I had a job in California where I telecommuted part-time for two years. I would...
► I am a lending officer at at a bank, but i work way more than 40 hrs a week and i...
► Hi, I work as the IT Manager at a small business and one of my staff members...
More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press