Legal Question in Employment Law in California

I am a Speech-Language pathologist in California. From December 2012 to June 2013 I worked a part-time school speech therapist-independent contractor for a small company. My employment offer was made contingent upon my signing a Non-Solicitation agreement, which prohibited me from working for the same school district directly for 1 year following my termination “unless an equitable arrangement is made and agreed on by both parties such as a “buy out” of contract by school district”. My contract ended in June 2013, and the company I worked for did not have any other job opportunities for me. Now, there is a full time position open in this district I want to apply for. Can my contract be enforceable if I violate the non-compete agreement? Thank you,

Anna

Asked on 9/15/13, 10:19 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Laurie Gertz and Laurie
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Need to have an attorney review the contract to give you advise. The contract wording is very important.

Read more
9/15/13, 5:21 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88222 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now