California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
1/22/02, 1:34 pm

Legal Question


Wrongfull termination

I was a secretary for 8 months. My boss was always talking about sexual experiences and I had expressed to my supervisor that I felt it was inappropriate. I think she may have mentioned something to my boss because my boss began to treat me very badly. She made constant rude comments to me and would continually hurt my feelings. She would belittle me to the point where I would cry. I told my supervisor that I would like to be demoted to my old position to avoid any further harassment. I told her that my boss' behavior was causing high stress. With human Resources present my supervisor had a meeting with my boss. The outcome that was reported to me was that she was sorry and would talk to me. Two days later she terminated me. No reason was given. three days later I asked to view my personnel file. They got defensive and said to call their attorney. I feeel I was wrongfully terminated because I went to human resources with a problem. Can I sue for wrongfull termination?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search