California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
10/06/03, 3:38 am

Legal Question


legality of faxed leases and lease clauses

Before I moved in, I signed a very detailed and rather prohibitive lease agreement, as did my roommate. However, she signed a faxed copy (and faxed it back to the landlord) whereas I signed the original. Since we've moved in, our landlord has been harrassing my roommate to sign the original lease which she refuses to do based on the fact that she doesn't agree with certain clauses in the lease (e.g. no overnight visitors w/o consent). Also, there are clauses in our lease which we have found out go against local tenancy laws, such as the fact that the landlord does NOT need to give us 24 hr notice to enter our apartment (which he seems to do on a regular basis) and that we can't change our locks (even though local law states that it is our right to do so and that we don't even need to give a copy of the key to him). Whose law overrides who? Further, my roommate seems to think that she is not legally bound to the lease agreement because the landlord has a fax of a faxed lease; otherwise, why would the landlord be so persistent about getting her to sign the original copy?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search