California | Personal Injury
Legal Question
Medical vs Bodily Injury?
Last October my grand-daughters and I were in a single car accident. One was driving my car on a learners permit the other g-daughter and myself were passengers. The driver lost control; the car rolls & is totaled. Driver is ok, but her sister is ejected & suffers severe facial lacerations. Health insurance paid doctor/hospital bills. Auto collision coverage replaced vehicle and included 50/100K liability plus 5K medical.
When the claims rep started talking about closing the case out I mention that un-reimbursed medical expenses would be unknown for awhile as the doctors wanted the scar tissue to heal for two years before being corrected. Insurance then requested pictures and doctors records. Upon receipt they immediately sent her a check equal to the medical limit (5K).
I'm sure a plastic surgeon can not correct her facial scars for 5K and I suspect her new health plan will treat this as elective or pre-existing condition as she recently changed health plans & providers.
With one year elasping soon what are her options for
insuring future corrective scar treatment. Does she have a bodily injury claim under liability or does she have to sue someone?
Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys
The Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi has over 20 years of experience helping victims of automobile, motorcycle, pedestrian, slip-and-fall accidents and much more all over California. We can help you recover for your pain and suffering and other losses and expenses. No recovery No fee. Visit our website or call us for a free consultation about your case at 1-800-LAW-TALK.


