California  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
8/24/05, 12:24 pm

Legal Question


Neighbors tree roots causing damage by uplifting driveway

I have a duplex that has four of my neighbors trees bordering it on the other side of our fence. The tree roots have uplifted my driveway causing extensive damage. We sent a certified letter letting the owner know about the problem. She is being uncooperative. Basically telling us to fix it and not taking any responsibility for her damage to our property. Also letting us know that we will be responsible for any damage to her trees if we cut the roots. All these trees lean over onto my property, about seventy five percent. What rights or recourse do I have or do I have any? The bids I've received to fix this problem are in the $15,000.00 range. Sincerely, GK


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search