California | Social Security Law
Legal Question
Spouse Benefits
I was married for 28 years and divorsed 10 years ago. Neither my spouse nor I have remarried. When he dies can I collect on his social security?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: MARK GEYER |
Re: Spouse Benefits Hello!
Under current SS rules, a spouse may "collect" on another spouse's account if:
First spouse has attained retirement age, and 2nd spouse has attained retirement age, or if, in your case, you have reached 62 and choose to take early benefits at a reduced rate and then collect a higher amount when you reach 66.
If you hve not attained the earnings minimum, you can only collect on your husband's account.
The "marital rule" has been reached by you, 10 years of continious marriage to the same spouse.
I hope this has been helpful.
Regards,
Mark Geyer |
Top Attorneys in CA
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Armen M. Tashjian
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 660
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 293
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
LAW OFFICES OF MARK MITCHELL GEYER
Calabasas, CA
Questions Answered: 194
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-06-11
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Law offices of Phillip A. cooke
Yuba City, CA
Questions Answered: 82
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-02
Law Offices of Samuel L. Salazar
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 71
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-12
Mesriani Law Group
Santa Monica, CA
Questions Answered: 67
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Search Questions and Answers


