Legal Question in Criminal Law in Colorado

I live in Sterling, Colorado and I was issued a summons earlier this evening for 3rd degree criminal trespassing. My issue with that is I was never told I was banned from the property and they never gave me a statement saying I was. I have court in November for the charge and I was wondering since they never told me that I was banned or gave me a statement saying I was banned do they still have the right to give me the 3rd degree criminal trespassing charge?

Asked on 10/10/13, 6:59 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Damon Cassens Carpenter and Cassens, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Under those facts they will have a difficult time proving the charge.

However, I'm willing to bet that the store will have a letter somewhere saying they told you to stay out.

Read more
10/11/13, 6:35 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Colorado

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8806 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now