Legal Question in Criminal Law in District of Columbia

I was deceived by someone through the web. I saw Ad on Craigslist about housing. I contacted the alleged owner and we sign a contract to rent the place. After I wired transfer the money to his maneger account, I never heard back from him again. The apartment is in DC. I wired transfered from the State of Kuwait. The bank that I transfered the money to is in Tennessee !

I have approve that the name was used is the name of the owner of that place, but i have no prove that the person I was dealing with is the owner himself not someone pretending to be him. And, I do have the name and bank account details of who he referred to as his manager accountant.

I filed a claim to The Internet Crime Complaint Center IC3

https://www.ic3.gov/default.aspx

And to

The Federal Trade Commission

https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/

And for two months I haven't heard from them.

What should I do ?

Asked on 2/19/13, 6:32 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Torrance Colvin The Colvin Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

To start, you should have immediately contacted the bank where you wired the funds. Have you done that? If so, what did they say?

Read more
3/20/13, 6:10 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in District of Columbia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88222 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
David SlaterDavid P. Slater, Esq.Boca Raton, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now