Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Florida

I had a judgment for garnishment levied against me in Georgia although I live in Florida. Can I file for the head of family exemption in Florida even if the judgment was in Georgia. The summons was served to a Georgia address that I haven't lived at for seven years. Or do I have to deal with the Georgia courts?

Asked on 8/06/13, 9:49 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If the asset is in GA, you must deal with GA courts. A GA judgment has no effect in Florida unless it has been domesticated in Fla.

Read more
8/06/13, 10:48 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now