Florida | Family Law
Legal Question
back-support interest owed
Yes, I live in Daytona Bch. Fl (Volusia Co.)
My ex-husban owes over $7,000.00 in back child
support, can I collect interest on this amount owed
in the state of Florida? If so what is the interest rate?
and what form is needed to file with the courts?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Richard Hornsby |
Re: back-support interest owed Yes, depending on your situation you are entitled to interest on the past due child supprt.
If you are not enrolled in a the State of Florida Child Support Enforcement program, under Section 742.08, Florida Stautes, if your ex-husband defaults on his child support obligations ordered by the court "the court may enter a judgment for the amount in default, plus interest, administrative costs, filing fees, and other expenses incurred by the clerk of the circuit court which shall be a lien upon all property of the defendant both real and personal."
One major hurdle though, is the Court must find that your husband had the ability to pay the child support. If your husband is very poor the court may not order interest and costs.
If you are enrolled in the State of Florida Child Support Enforcement Program then the program is entitled to collect interest under Section 409.2584, Florida Stautes, on the past due amount. However, the program may waive the interest if it will facilitate him catching up on past due amounts.
I hope this helps.
Richard Hornsby www.richardhornsby.com |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
The Orsini & Rose Law Firm
Tampa (and Throughout Florida), FL
Questions Answered: 4585
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Lucreita D. Becude, P.A.
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 2849
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Law Office of Latangie Williams, P.A.
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 816
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Robert Brian Roemer LLC
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Law Offices of Marie-Anne Oatley
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 709
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-08-24
Search Questions and Answers


